Phantom Places: Wabank House. What happened to this ‘fashionable and favorite place of summer resort’?

Built in 1855 along the banks of the Conestoga, the Wabank House was a "fashionable and…

In the News: ‘Group retraces historic fur trade portage route’ from LancasterOnline

In the News: 'Group retraces historic fur trade portage route' from LancasterOnline

River Guide: Mouth of the Conestoga

Ponder this for a moment. Millions of years ago, an enormous lake once existed at what…

A Brief History of Conestoga Township

Conestoga Township was named for the Conestoga River, which in turn was named for a tribe…

River Guide: Headwaters of the Conestoga

Most people know where the Conestoga River ends. It empties into the Susquehanna directly below Safe…

Side Quest: Conestoga Navigation Company’s Lock #6 in Safe Harbor

Hidden in Conestoga River Park along River Road in Safe Harbor is Lock 6 of the…

Side Quest: Kayaking the Conestoga from Rock Hill to Safe Harbor

If you are looking for some ruins to explore or are a novice kayaker in search…

Port of Lancaster and the Curious Etymology of Safe Harbor’s Name

Where does the name Safe Harbor originate? Believe it or not, but it comes from the…

River Guide: The Bridge Club – Pinetown & Hunsecker covered bridges

Unique members of the Bridge Club: Pinetown & Hunsecker that span the Conestoga River from Manheim…

River Guide: The Bridge Club – PA Railroad

This member of the Bridge Club is by far the most magnificent. A towering stone edifice…